How a £1 minimum deposit casino works in the UK, and who it suits
A pound is a small thing to risk. It is also small enough that any site asking for it has to think harder about whether the player is who they say they are, whether the deposit method works at that floor, and whether the bonus attached to it is worth the wagering it carries. This page is written for a reader who already has a single pound in mind and wants to know what that pound actually does on a UK‑licensed site, what rules sit around it, and which operators on the Gambling Commission’s register accept deposits that low.

Last verified against the Gambling Commission’s public register on 23 September 2026, and against the Commission’s published rules on consumer protection, deposits, payments and bonus terms.
Table of Contents
- The fundamentals of low‑deposit play in Britain
- Licences, registers and what makes a UK casino legal
- Consumer protection that still applies at a £1 deposit
- The offshore question and the GAMSTOP boundary
- How a £1 deposit moves through card, bank and e‑wallet
- Apple Pay at a UK £1 minimum deposit casino
- AstroPay at a UK £1 minimum deposit casino
- What changes when a bonus is in the picture
- How the 10x wagering cap plays out at a £1 deposit
- The UK £1 minimum deposit casino comparison
- The broader landscape and what the register shows
- What the consumer‑protection rules cost a low‑deposit player
- Choosing among licensed UK operators at a £1 deposit
- What this page does not cover
- Frequently asked questions
The fundamentals of low‑deposit play in Britain
A £1 minimum deposit casino in the UK is not a different product from any other licensed online casino. The minimum is the lowest amount the cashier will accept before a player can wager. Everything else — the licence, the identity checks, the self‑exclusion scheme, the slot stake cap — is the same as it would be at a £20 minimum site. The minimum is the only thing that changes, and most of what makes a low‑deposit site different from its higher‑minimum peers sits in the cashier rather than in the lobby.

For a player, the practical questions are narrow. Can a pound actually clear the deposit method the site offers? Does the welcome offer stay available at that stake, and if so, what does its wagering requirement demand in spins? Does the same payout route that took the pound also return any winnings, and on what timetable? And — under a regime that has banned credit cards for gambling since 2020, capped slot stakes by age, and tightened bonus rules from late 2025 — is the offer itself still legal under a Commission licence?
The rest of the page works through those questions in turn. The first shelf covers the licence frame that any £1 deposit site has to sit inside. The next sets out the consumer‑protection rules that apply even at a pound deposit — GAMSTOP, the deposit‑limit prompt, the age‑tiered slot stake cap, and the 10x wagering ceiling. The third shelf walks through payments and payout speed. The fourth is the operator comparison: ten Gambling Commission licensees that appear on the register as active remote casino operators, what their public profile looks like, and where each one fits the picture. The calculation at the close works the 10x wagering cap through to a band of spins and play time.
Licences, registers and what makes a UK casino legal
Every casino taking deposits from players in Great Britain needs a remote operating licence from the Gambling Commission. That holds whether the casino asks for £1 or £200 — the minimum stake does not soften the licensing requirement. The Commission has been explicit, in the public register and in its published guidance, that the licence is the test, not the size of the deposit.

The public register is the document that settles it. It is searchable online and downloadable as a CSV or Excel file, and on 18 September 2026 it listed 139 businesses holding an active remote casino operating licence. The register also carries a domain list, which records each website against the licence account that runs it and marks it Active, Inactive or White Label; on the same date it held 1065 active and 361 white‑label entries. A white‑label site trades under another company’s licence, which means the operator shown in the cashier may be a marketing brand while the legal entity behind the games is a different company. That distinction matters when a reader wants to check who is responsible for a complaint, and the register is where it is resolved.
A remote casino licence number on the register has a fixed shape. It reads as a six‑digit account number, the letter R, another number, and a suffix — for example 055149‑R‑331499‑004. The leading six digits repeat the licence holder’s account number; the R marks a remote (online) licence; the suffix indicates which condition set the licence was issued under. Reading the licence number is worth doing once: it is the one piece of evidence a regulator prints on a site, and any discrepancy between what a casino claims on its own footer and what the register shows is a reason to pause.
The ten operators compared on this page are all taken from that register. Their entries are reproduced below in the comparison table, and each one carries the licence number, the licence holder and the domain status the register shows. None of them is offered here as a recommendation. They are ten active licensees drawn from the Commission’s list; the comparison looks at what their public profile says, not at whether the reader should play with them.
A site that takes UK players without one of those licences is committing an offence under section 33 of the Gambling Act 2005. The Commission can issue cease‑and‑desist notices, refer payment and hosting providers for disruption, and ask search engines to delist the domain, but it has no power to block ISPs — so a site can remain reachable for some time after it has been formally flagged. No penalty falls on the player. What the player loses on an unlicensed site is protection: there is no GAMSTOP, no Commission complaints route, and no approved alternative dispute resolution. That is the practical difference between a licensed £1 casino and an unlicensed one, and it is the reason this page does not describe any operator that does not appear on the register.
Consumer protection that still applies at a £1 deposit
A pound is small enough to look casual, but the consumer‑protection regime that sits on top of a Commission licence does not scale down with the deposit. GAMSTOP, the national online self‑exclusion scheme, has been a mandatory condition of every online licence since 31 March 2020, and a self‑exclusion registration runs for six months, one year or five years — it cannot be cancelled early. A player who has self‑excluded cannot deposit a pound at any Commission‑licensed site, regardless of how that site sets its minimum.
Identity checks have applied at every Commission‑licensed site since 7 May 2019. Name, address and date of birth are verified before the first deposit and before any play. Anonymous play is not possible at a licensed site. There is no low‑deposit carve‑out.
Slot stakes are capped by age. Players aged 25 and over face a £5 maximum stake per game cycle, in force from 9 April 2025; players aged 18 to 24 face a £2 cap, in force from 21 May 2025. A £1 deposit therefore buys far more spins on the lower stake limit than on the higher one — but the deposit itself is not affected, only the size of each bet that can be placed once the player is in the lobby.
The Commission requires operators to prompt a customer to set a financial limit before the first deposit. That requirement has been in force from 31 October 2025, so even a player arriving with a single pound in mind will be asked to declare a deposit, loss or session ceiling before they can play. There is no state‑set deposit or loss cap — the operator‑set limit is the one that binds, and the player chooses its value. Financial vulnerability checks, run by the operator against public data, kick in at £150 of net deposits in a rolling 30 days, in force from 28 February 2025; a player staying well below that threshold will not normally encounter them in a low‑deposit session.
Auto‑play is banned, a slot spin may not run faster than 2.5 seconds, and losses disguised as wins are banned — all from 31 October 2021. These three rules do not change with the deposit, but they do shape the rhythm of low‑stake play: each spin takes a deliberate click, the spin takes its 2.5 seconds, and the screen does not pretend a small win is bigger than it is.
The two responsible‑gambling resources that are visible to players in this market are GamCare, which runs the National Gambling Helpline, and GambleAware, which funds treatment and education. Both are referenced on Commission‑licensed sites and are the routes a player should use if a £1 minimum deposit has become a habit they want to interrupt.
The offshore question and the GAMSTOP boundary
Some readers arrive at this subject specifically because they have self‑excluded through GAMSTOP and want a route back in. The honest answer is that a Commission‑licensed casino cannot offer one. GAMSTOP is a mandatory condition of every online licence; any operator that takes a self‑excluded player’s deposit loses its licence. There is no Commission‑licensed £1 casino that is not on GAMSTOP, because the two things contradict each other.
The term “£1 minimum deposit casino not on GAMSTOP” describes sites that are not on the Commission’s register. They may be licensed in Curaçao, in Malta, in Anjouan or in some other jurisdiction that does not impose GAMSTOP. They are not unlawful for the player to use, but they are unlawful for the operator to advertise to UK customers, and they offer none of the protections a Commission licence confers — no GAMSTOP integration, no approved ADR, no Commission complaints route, no requirement that the operator flag financial vulnerability, no slot stake cap, no 10x wagering ceiling. The deposit may be £1, but the trade is the protection the player is walking away from.
This page covers Commission‑licensed casinos. An offshore £1 site is not described in the comparison below, because the comparison is built from the Commission’s public register and an offshore site is, by definition, not on it. The boundary is drawn once here; it does not need to be re‑drawn in every section.
How a £1 deposit moves through card, bank and e‑wallet
The deposit method a player uses shapes whether a pound actually clears, how fast it lands, and how the same channel returns any winnings. Credit cards have been banned for gambling since 14 April 2020, and the ban extends to credit cards routed through e‑wallets — funding an Apple Pay wallet with a credit card does not bring a credit‑card deposit back inside the rules. Debit cards, bank transfers and e‑wallets funded from a debit card or a bank account remain the legal routes.
Bank transfers within the UK run on the Faster Payments Service, which Pay.UK launched in 2008 and which operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Most Faster Payments transfers arrive instantly or within a couple of minutes; transfers can occasionally take up to two hours. The Faster Payments scheme sets a £1,000,000 per‑transaction limit, but individual banks routinely impose lower limits on their own customers, and a £1 deposit is well below any of those floors. The Bank of England oversees the system’s safety and stability and provides final settlement, even though it does not itself sit in the scheme as a participant.
For a low‑deposit player, the practical question is whether the casino cashier accepts the channel at a £1 floor. Not all channels do. Some e‑wallets impose their own minimum, and some methods that work for a £20 deposit will refuse a £1 one outright. The casino’s own cashier page is the place this is settled — there is no Commission rule that requires every channel to accept every minimum, only that the channels the casino does offer be operated within the consumer‑protection regime.
Withdrawals use the same channels, in most cases, but the timetable is set by the channel rather than by the deposit size. Faster Payments returns typically arrive in minutes once the operator has approved the withdrawal. Debit‑card withdrawals can take longer — often one to three working days, occasionally longer, depending on the card issuer. E‑wallets tend to clear fastest once approved. The Commission’s rules require the operator to return funds to the same method used for the deposit where that is technically possible, in line with anti‑money‑laundering requirements.
A useful framing for the reader: the deposit is the easy part, because every method that clears £1 will get the player into the lobby in minutes. The withdrawal is the part that varies, because it sits behind the operator’s own approval process as well as the channel’s own settlement window. A player planning to deposit a pound and walk away with anything they win should look at the withdrawal timetable before they look at the deposit minimum, because that is where the timing risk lives.
Apple Pay at a UK £1 minimum deposit casino
Apple Pay is the e‑wallet most UK readers will already have on their phone, and several Commission‑licensed casinos list it as a deposit method. It was developed and operated by Apple Inc., launched on 20 October 2014, and began supporting UK‑issued payment cards on 14 July 2015. The technology rests on tokenization — the actual card number is replaced with a device‑specific tokenised Device Primary Account Number, and a dynamic security code is generated for each transaction. In‑store payments use near‑field communication, and the iPhone authenticates each transaction with a double‑click of the side button on Face ID models or the Home button on Touch ID models.
The rules a reader needs to know are narrow. Apple requires a supported card from a participating card issuer, and Apple Pay is not available in every market — UK availability is the relevant case here. More important for this page, Apple Pay itself is a payment channel; the underlying funding card is what the Gambling Commission’s credit‑card ban looks at. Funding Apple Pay from a credit card is not allowed for gambling. Funding it from a debit card is.
For deposits at a £1 minimum, Apple Pay tends to clear instantly, with no separate floor above the casino’s own minimum. Where it appears as an option in the cashier, it usually offers the fastest deposit experience available on the site, including at low stakes. The Commission’s 2020 credit‑card ban, and the consumer‑protection regime that sits on top of it, applies unchanged — Apple Pay is a channel, the licence is the casino’s.
Apple Pay’s wider regulatory history is worth a sentence and no more. In November 2024 the US Consumer Financial Protection Bureau finalised a rule bringing large nonbank digital wallets, including Apple Pay, under bank‑like federal oversight. In 2020 the European Commission opened an investigation into whether Apple abused its control of iPhone NFC hardware to block rival payment apps’ access to contactless payments. These are matters for Apple, not for the player, and they do not change what Apple Pay does at a £1 deposit.
AstroPay at a UK £1 minimum deposit casino
AstroPay is a global digital wallet offering online payments, virtual and physical debit cards, and peer‑to‑peer transfers. It was founded in 2009 and is headquartered in Uruguay. Its UK entity, Larstal Limited, is an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011; its Isle of Man entity, AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited, is licensed by the Isle of Man Financial Services Authority for money transmission; its Brazilian entity is authorised by the Brazilian Central Bank as an electronic currency issuer; its Danish entity is authorised as an electronic money institution by the Danish Financial Supervisory Authority. The group operates across markets including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States and Uruguay.
For a UK player, what matters is that the wallet is operated by a UK entity authorised by the FCA — that is the level of authorisation relevant to a UK consumer using it. AstroPay spun off its payment‑processing business, dLocal, as a separate company in 2016, which is a corporate note rather than something that affects a deposit at a cashier.
AstroPay behaves like other e‑wallets at a £1 deposit: instant credit at the cashier, withdrawal through the same channel once approved, and the same Faster Payments or card‑rail settlement depending on how the wallet is funded. As with Apple Pay, the credit‑card ban applies to the funding card, not to the wallet itself. Where AstroPay appears as a deposit option at a Commission‑licensed casino, it usually sits alongside other e‑wallets and follows the same minimum floor as the cashier more broadly.
What changes when a bonus is in the picture
Bonuses at Commission‑licensed casinos have a tighter ceiling than they did two years ago. Since 19 December 2025 wagering requirements are capped at 10x, and mixed‑product bonuses — for example, bet on sport, get casino spins — are banned. A welcome offer that hands a player £20 in bonus funds with a 10x wagering requirement asks the player to turn over £200 before withdrawing anything that came from the bonus. That is the legal ceiling; nothing above it can be advertised at a licensed site.
A £1 deposit makes the bonus question awkward in two ways. First, the smallest welcome packages are typically tied to a minimum first deposit of £10 or £20, so a £1 deposit is often below the threshold at which the bonus activates. Second, even where a £1 deposit does activate a bonus, the wagering requirement has to be met on a small starting bank, which can mean a long sequence of small bets before any withdrawal is possible.
The arithmetic belongs to the writer. It is set out as a band below. The key assumption in any calculation of this kind is that only the bonus amount is wagered, not the deposit — once a real‑money balance is in play, the calculation changes. The reader should treat any output as a planning figure, not a prediction.
How the 10x wagering cap plays out at a £1 deposit
The 10x wagering ceiling, in force from 19 December 2025, caps the multiplier on any bonus a Commission‑licensed casino can offer. Worked through to spins, the requirement reads as a band rather than a single figure because the inputs vary.
A £20 bonus at 10x is £200 of required turnover. At a £1 stake per spin that is 200 spins; at a £0.10 stake it is 2,000 spins. At the 2.5‑second minimum spin interval set by the Commission, 200 spins is roughly eight minutes of continuous play; 2,000 spins is roughly an hour and twenty‑three minutes. The same £200 of turnover at a £0.50 stake is 400 spins, around seventeen minutes of play. So a player turning over a £20 bonus with a 10x cap faces somewhere between roughly eight minutes and roughly an hour and a half of play, depending on the stake they choose.
A £50 bonus at 10x is £500 of required turnover. At a £1 stake that is 500 spins, around twenty‑one minutes; at a £0.10 stake, 5,000 spins, around two hours and four minutes; at a £0.50 stake, 1,000 spins, around forty‑two minutes. The band stretches from a little under half an hour to over two hours for the same offer, with stake as the only variable.
A £100 bonus at 10x is £1,000 of required turnover. At a £1 stake, 1,000 spins, around forty‑two minutes; at a £0.10 stake, 10,000 spins, around four hours and ten minutes; at a £0.50 stake, 2,000 spins, around an hour and twenty‑three minutes.
The band is wide because the stake is wide. The 2.5‑second spin interval and the 10x multiplier are the fixed parts. A player who plans to clear a bonus at minimum stake should expect the longest reading of the band; a player who plans to stake near the maximum allowed by the slot cap should expect the shortest.
Two qualifications sit on top of these numbers. First, they assume every spin is a qualifying spin toward wagering — most slots count 100% but some count less, and the operator’s own terms page is the only place that is settled. Second, they assume only the bonus balance is wagered; once the deposit is in play, the calculation moves. Treat the figures as a planning estimate, not a prediction of any individual session.
The UK £1 minimum deposit casino comparison
The comparison table below provides a quick breakdown of payment channel norms.
| Channel | Typical speed | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Debit card | Instant/days | General play |
| Bank transfer | Minutes/hours | High-value |
| E-wallet | Instant/minutes | Speed |
The table below lists ten operators from the Gambling Commission’s public register, each one holding an active remote casino operating licence and listed as an active domain against that licence. The order follows the register rather than a ranking. Each row carries the brand name, the licence holder, the licence number, the domain status and whether the operator’s public profile addresses the subject of this page — a £1 minimum deposit — directly. Several brands share one licensee; the comparison makes that visible rather than treating shared licensees as independent operators.
| Brand | Licence holder | GB remote casino licence | Domain status | £1 minimum deposit support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PokerStars | Stars Interactive Limited (account 39108) | 039108-R-319334-026 | Active | — |
| Betfred | Petfre (Gibraltar) Limited (account 39544) | 039544-R-319290-010 | Active | — |
| Betfair | PPB Games Limited (account 39411) | 039411-R-319335-010 | Active | — |
| bet365 | Hillside (UK Gaming) ENC (account 55149) | 055149-R-331499-004 | Active | — |
| Unibet | Platinum Gaming Limited (account 45322) | 045322-R-324275-019 | Active | — |
| Coral | LC International Limited (account 54743) | 054743-R-330863-014 | Active | — |
| Casumo | Recro Limited (account 61549) | 061549-R-336718-002 | Active | — |
| 888casino | 888 UK Limited (account 39028) | 039028-R-319297-014 | Active | — |
| kwiff | Eaton Gate Gaming Limited (account 44448) | 044448-R-323408-017 | Active | — |
| Midnite | Dribble Media Limited (account 42647) | 042647-R-321653-022 | Active | — |
The licence number on each row is the document a reader can take to the Commission’s public register and verify. The domain status reflects what the register showed on 18 September 2026; “Active” means the domain is recorded against the licence account as currently operating. The right‑hand column is intentionally blank across the table: research carries no specific £1 minimum deposit claim for any of these brands, and the comparison does not infer one. A reader who wants to know whether a brand on this list accepts a pound as a first deposit has to check that brand’s cashier page directly — the register does not record minimum deposits, and the figure can change without notice.
The table is best read as a map of who is licensed, not as a map of who accepts what. The Commission’s register is the authoritative source on the former; the operator’s cashier page is the authoritative source on the latter. They are different documents and they answer different questions.
PokerStars — Stars Interactive Limited
PokerStars operates at PokerStars under the Stars Interactive Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 039108-R-319334-026. Stars Interactive is the operator behind one of the longest‑established poker brands in the UK market, and the casino product sits beside that. The licence is in good standing on the Commission’s register, and the domain appears as active. The operator’s public materials do not, in the materials reviewed for this page, state a £1 minimum deposit at the cashier; readers should confirm the current figure on the cashier page itself. For a player who knows the brand from poker and wants the same operator for slots and table games, this is one of the more direct options on the list — the same licence covers both products.
Betfred — Petfre (Gibraltar) Limited
Betfred operates at Betfred under the Petfre (Gibraltar) Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 039544-R-319290-010. Petfre is the Gibraltar‑registered vehicle behind the Betfred brand, and the licence is held against that entity. The domain appears active on the Commission’s register. The cashier’s minimum deposit is not, in the materials reviewed for this page, confirmed at £1, and the comparison does not infer one. Betfred’s strength in this picture is its high‑street heritage: it is one of the larger UK‑facing bookmaking brands, and the casino sits within that broader business. A player looking for a familiar name with a full Commission licence finds that here.
Betfair — PPB Games Limited
Betfair operates at Betfair under the PPB Games Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 039411-R-319335-010. PPB Games is the games‑side entity inside the Flutter group, separate from the sports‑exchange operations. The domain is active on the register. As with the other rows in this table, the £1 minimum deposit figure is not stated in the materials reviewed for this page, and the comparison does not infer it. For a player who already uses the Betfair exchange for sports, the casino sits under the same group but is operated by a different entity, and that distinction matters when a complaint needs to go to the right licence holder.
bet365 — Hillside (UK Gaming) ENC
Bet365 operates at Bet365 under the Hillside (UK Gaming) ENC account, holding remote casino operating licence 055149-R-331499-004. Hillside is one of the larger privately‑held gaming groups operating into the UK, and the licence is among the more prominent on the register. The domain is active. As elsewhere in this comparison, the £1 minimum deposit figure is not carried by the research for this page. bet365 is the operator readers will most often compare this page against — its scale, its in‑play sports product and its casino depth are all well‑known. For a player weighing whether to deposit a pound at bet365 or at one of the more low‑deposit‑oriented brands, the choice is usually between an established full‑service operator and a smaller site whose marketing leans on the low minimum itself.
Unibet — Platinum Gaming Limited
Unibet operates at unibet.co.uk under the Platinum Gaming Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 045322-R-324275-019. Platinum Gaming is the Kindred‑group entity that runs the Unibet brand in the UK. The domain is active. As above, the £1 minimum is not confirmed in the materials reviewed. Unibet is the Nordic‑origin brand in this comparison, and the same group runs several European facing sites; for a UK player, only the .co.uk domain and the Platinum Gaming licence are the relevant ones.
Coral — LC International Limited
Coral operates at coral.co.uk under the LC International Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 054743-R-330863-014. LC International is the operator behind a cluster of well‑known UK brands, and several names sit under the same licence account — which means a complaint about one of them has to be addressed through LC International rather than to a separate entity. The domain is active. The £1 minimum is not, in the materials reviewed, confirmed. For a player who already has a Coral high‑street account, the online casino sits under the same group and is one of the more direct routes onto the licensed list.
Casumo — Recro Limited
Casumo operates at Casumo under the Recro Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 061549-R-336718-002. Recro is the operator behind the Casumo brand, one of the more design‑led European online casinos to win a UK licence in the past decade. The domain is active. As with the other rows, the £1 minimum is not stated in the materials reviewed. Casumo’s distinctiveness in this comparison is its product design rather than its minimum deposit — readers coming to Casumo typically arrive for the lobby, not for the cashier’s floor.
888casino — 888 UK Limited
888casino operates at 888casino under the 888 UK Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 039028-R-319297-014. 888 UK Limited is the UK‑facing entity of the 888 group, and the licence is held against it directly. The domain is active. The £1 minimum is not confirmed in the materials reviewed. 888 is one of the longer‑established purely online casino brands in the UK market, and the licence has been in place across multiple renewal cycles.
kwiff — Eaton Gate Gaming Limited
Kwiff operates at Kwiff under the Eaton Gate Gaming Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 044448-R-323408-017. Eaton Gate is the operator behind kwiff, a smaller brand in this comparison and one of the more recent additions to the Commission’s register. The domain is active. The £1 minimum is not, in the materials reviewed, confirmed. For a reader who wants a Commission‑licensed casino at a smaller scale than the better‑known brands, kwiff is on the list — but the comparison does not impute a low minimum deposit where research has none.
Midnite — Dribble Media Limited
Midnite operates at Midnite under the Dribble Media Limited account, holding remote casino operating licence 042647-R-321653-022. Dribble Media is the operator behind Midnite, a newer UK‑facing brand. The domain is active. As with the other rows in this table, the £1 minimum is not stated in the materials reviewed. Midnite’s position in the comparison is as one of the smaller UK‑licensed online operators currently on the register; readers looking at newer entrants to the UK market alongside the established names find it there.
The broader landscape and what the register shows
The ten operators in the table above are a sample, not a census. The Commission’s register, on 18 September 2026, listed 139 businesses holding an active remote casino operating licence, with 1065 active and 361 white‑label domains attached to them. The sample on this page covers a mix of the longest‑established names — bet365, Betfair, Coral, 888casino — alongside mid‑size and newer entrants — Casumo, kwiff, Midnite. It does not cover the full 139. A reader who has a specific brand in mind that does not appear here should consult the register directly; the brand may still be licensed, just outside the set this page has chosen to compare.
The register’s structure matters for two practical reasons. First, it lets a reader verify any licence claim a casino makes on its own footer. The licence number on the register has a fixed shape — six‑digit account, R, number, suffix — and any number on a casino’s homepage can be typed into the register’s search to confirm that it matches the licence holder named on the register. Second, it lets a reader see whether a domain is active, inactive or a white label. A white‑label domain is one that trades under another company’s licence; the operator at the cashier may be a marketing brand, while the legal entity behind the games is the named licence holder. That distinction is what determines who responds to a complaint.
A register entry can change. The 18 September 2026 snapshot is the snapshot this page is built on; a brand that is active on that date can become inactive later, and a licence can be surrendered or revoked. The page is current as of that date; the register itself is the live document.
What the consumer‑protection rules cost a low‑deposit player
The rules covered above — the credit‑card ban, the GAMSTOP requirement, the identity check, the slot stake cap, the 2.5‑second spin interval, the 10x wagering ceiling, the financial‑limit prompt — do not change the £1 floor; they sit on top of it. They do, however, change what a £1 deposit can become inside the lobby.
The 2.5‑second spin interval means a low‑stake session takes longer in elapsed time than it would at a faster spin cadence. The age‑tiered slot cap means an 18‑24‑year‑old player is wagering at a lower maximum than an over‑25 player, and a pound goes further in spin count for the younger player. The 10x wagering ceiling caps the cost of clearing any bonus; a £20 bonus with a 10x cap asks for £200 of turnover, which is a known quantity at the cashier. The financial‑limit prompt, in force from 31 October 2025, asks the player to declare a ceiling before the first deposit — even a player with a single pound in mind has to set a number, even if the number is a high one.
The credit‑card ban, in force since 14 April 2020, is the most consequential of these for a low‑deposit player. A player who would have used a credit card for a £1 deposit — because the small amount did not feel like a real outflow — cannot. The Commission estimated that around 800,000 UK consumers used credit cards to gamble in 2018, and that 22% of online gamblers who used credit cards to gamble were classed as problem gamblers. The numbers are dated but the rule is not; it has been in force continuously since April 2020 and applies to every Commission‑licensed casino. The deposit has to come from a debit card, a bank account, or an e‑wallet funded from one of those.
The aggregate effect is that a £1 deposit is more deliberative than it looks. The player has to choose a payment channel that allows the floor, pass identity verification, set a financial limit, accept the slot stake cap, and play at a 2.5‑second spin cadence. None of those steps is large; together they make a single pound a more thoughtful stake than a pound placed in any other consumer context.
Choosing among licensed UK operators at a £1 deposit
For a reader who has decided to deposit a pound at a Commission‑licensed casino, the choice between the ten names on the table is not made on the minimum deposit — they all carry a Commission licence, the register confirms each one as active on 18 September 2026, and the £1 floor is a property of the cashier rather than the licence. The choice is made on what the operator offers beyond the licence: the lobby, the payment methods, the withdrawal timetable, the brand familiarity, the bonus structure.
The bigger, longer‑established names — bet365, Betfair, Coral, 888casino, PokerStars, Betfred, Unibet — tend to offer broader lobbies, more payment methods and faster withdrawal infrastructure, because their scale supports it. They also tend to set higher minimum deposits at the cashier than the £1 floor this page is built around; the minimum is not the headline of their offer. The smaller, more recent entrants — Casumo, kwiff, Midnite — compete on design and on niche product, and their cashiers may sit closer to the £1 floor the reader is asking about. The comparison does not impute a minimum to either group; it notes the structural difference.
A second axis is the payment method. A reader who wants to deposit with Apple Pay, with AstroPay or with a bank transfer via Faster Payments will find different sites accept each at a £1 floor. The cashier page is the only place that is settled. A third axis is the bonus structure: a £1 deposit typically sits below the threshold for the headline welcome bonus, which means the player is playing cash‑only rather than bonus‑and‑cash, and the 10x wagering cap does not apply because there is no bonus to clear.
A reader who plans to deposit a pound, place a few spins, and walk away with whatever is in the balance should look first at the withdrawal timetable. A reader who plans to deposit a pound and stay for a longer session should look at the lobby and the slot cap that applies to their age band. A reader who plans to deposit a pound and chase a bonus should look at the bonus terms — and, in this market, should expect the headline offer to require a larger first deposit than a pound.
What this page does not cover
Two subjects are deliberately outside this page. First, offshore casinos not on the Commission’s register. They are described in the section on GAMSTOP only to explain why they are not compared here; the comparison is built from the register and stops there. Second, the full set of 139 licensed operators on the register. The comparison covers ten; the register covers the rest. A reader with a brand in mind that does not appear in the table should consult the register directly.
Two further subjects are touched only briefly. Tax is not covered in depth: players pay no tax on gambling winnings in the UK, while operators pay Remote Gaming Duty, which is set to rise from 21% to 40% from 1 April 2026 — a figure that affects operator cost rather than player return. Game‑level RTP and volatility figures are not covered; the comparison is at the operator level, and the research does not carry title‑level figures for the brands above.
Frequently asked questions
What counts as a £1 minimum deposit at a licensed UK casino?
A £1 minimum deposit is the lowest amount the casino’s cashier will accept from a player. It is set by the operator and may apply only to certain payment methods — typically debit cards and bank transfers, occasionally e‑wallets — while other methods carry a higher floor. The Commission’s rules do not require any operator to accept a £1 deposit; the minimum is the operator’s own choice, within the consumer‑protection regime.
Is a £1 minimum deposit casino safe to use?
A £1 minimum deposit casino is safe in the sense the term carries at a licensed UK site: it holds a Gambling Commission licence, it sits on the public register, it operates GAMSTOP, it verifies identity before play, and it is subject to the Commission’s complaints route. The £1 figure is the cashier’s floor; the safety is the licence’s. An unlicensed site advertising a £1 minimum is a different matter — see the GAMSTOP section above.
Can I find a £1 minimum deposit casino that isn’t on GAMSTOP?
No Commission‑licensed casino can accept a self‑excluded player’s deposit, because GAMSTOP has been a mandatory condition of every online licence since 31 March 2020. A site that is “not on GAMSTOP” is, by definition, not on the Commission’s register, and therefore not licensed for UK players. The trade is the protection that comes with the licence.
How quickly do withdrawals settle after a £1 deposit?
The deposit clears quickly — Faster Payments transfers typically arrive instantly or within minutes, debit cards clear in seconds, e‑wallets are immediate. Withdrawals take longer because they sit behind the operator’s approval process. Once approved, e‑wallets tend to clear fastest, bank transfers via Faster Payments typically arrive in minutes, and debit‑card withdrawals can take one to three working days. The deposit size does not change the timetable; the channel does.
Which payment methods accept a £1 minimum deposit?
Debit cards, bank transfers via the Faster Payments Service, and e‑wallets funded from a debit card or bank account are the routes available at a £1 minimum at most licensed UK casinos. Credit cards are banned for gambling, including credit cards routed through e‑wallets, since 14 April 2020. Whether the casino accepts a £1 minimum on each of those channels is settled at the cashier; the Commission does not prescribe a uniform minimum.
Is a £1 minimum deposit casino licensed by the Gambling Commission?
A £1 minimum deposit casino licensed for UK play holds a remote casino operating licence from the Gambling Commission. The Commission’s public register lists 139 such licensees as of 18 September 2026, with 1065 active and 361 white‑label domains attached to them. The register is the document a reader can use to verify any licence claim a casino makes on its own footer.
Written by the editors at livetablesuk.
